## **AGM MINUTES**

Ridge Meadows Minor Hockey Association

Date: Wednesday, March 29, 2017 – 7:00 p.m. Location: Thomas Haney Secondary School

## **Board Members Present:**

Scott Falconer

Blaine Hallman

Pamela Galvez

**Derek Gullmes** 

Carolyn Gosling

Bill Bourguignon

Adam Schwartz

Derek Bedard

Nolan Balatti

## Absent:

Tony Coombs, Peter Dubinsky

Bruce Vasarhely

AGM called to order at 7:09 p.m. by Derek Gullmes, VP-C

- 1. Motion to approve minutes from AGM March 25, 2016 Adam Schwartz. Seconded by Nolan Balatti. Carried
- 2. Introductions / Roll Call was done by Derek Gullmes VP-C which included the board and recognizing all of the key volunteers throughout the season.
- 3. Season review by Scott Falconer Thank you to all volunteers, opened A program to reach more athletes though having development through the teams, key struggles ice times, new RIC this year offered an enhanced approach,

Season Review – reports given by:

- 1. Derek Gullmes VP of C Hockey -
- 2. Blaine Hallman VP of A Hockey
- 3. Carolyn Gosling VP of Administration
- 4. Celebrations Derek Gullumes highlighted our 2016-2017 awards dinner. 37 different awards. Highlighted teams that won Playoff and League games. Asked for volunteers to be part of the 50<sup>th</sup> year anniversary celebration

- 5. City Engagement Scott Falconer made active effort with City surround recreation facilities. Went to council 3 weeks ago to highlight some of the challenges that we face.
- 6. Volunteerism Scott Falconer RMMHA is facing substantial volunteer challenges. A group have been working to bring idea's forward. Brought idea for of \$500 voluter fee, looking for feedback from membership, this is not official yet.
- 7. Financial Report was given by Andrew Koran. 2016/17 Budget is looking to have a slight surplus.
- 8. Motion made by Andrew Koran to approve Evancic Perrault Robertson as auditors for 2016-17 season. Seconded by Nolan Balatti. Carried.
- 9. Presidents Report Scott Falconer. (1) Bantam Zone Program, (2) X-ICE change, (3) Atom Transition Program, BC Hockey. (4) City Council.

## 10. Open for Questions:

Lee Roberts: Cross-Ice Hockey – wanted to discuss 2 zone vs 3 zone. Coach group is feeling like they were not consulted in the program delivery. Derek Responded, Ridge made the decision to do it 3 zone. Coquitlam was the real exception, no one to mage the program as their president quit. BC Hockey more focus on have fun. Discussion at PCAHA was not on the agenda last night, was brought up if we want to have consistency. Discussion around safety. Coaches getting taken out from behind. Lots of discussion.

Grant Vance - Volunteer – people just want to write the cheque – mandatory when you register that you have to pick a volunteer position. First come first pick, might encourage early registration.

Nedra Murray – Mentorship Program – take advantage of the older players. Graduating kids need to complete volunteer hours.

Debra Vey-Lourens - Juvenile A – had 3 player players in the Scholarship tourney.

Dave Lige – Refereeing – Cross-Ice refs need more coaching on how to handle certain situations.

Lisa Foster - Development – no just Bantam development this year. Sunday morning was atom, pee wee, Bantam. Players were unchallenged. James responded that attendance was low so he had to open it up to more groups to fill the ice.

Lynn Blatchford - Goalie Development – only six spots for development. Not enough spots for Bantam Goalies. James responded that he does his best with the sign up.

Nicole Dewolf – Bantam Development always full. Need to have a way to deal with no shows. Perhaps there needs to be a penalty. Derek says it's an issue, but we struggle with how to manage it. These sessions are very expensive and RMMHA does want the best attendance.

Robert Orr – What direction will be provided next year to the refs for Cross-ice? Derek Bedard responded the ref clinics are run by BC Hockey. As refs are not mandatory in H1-4 by BC Hockey does not provide training for Cross-ice.

Robert Orr – Ice Purchase Rates – Who is negotiating with the rinks. Would RMMHA consider running the rinks. Carolyn responded. We get a portion of the ice subsidized. The City of Pitt Meadows or Maple Ridge negotiates the private rates and the private operators TELLS RMMHA what the rate will be. Requested that the City consider running the new Planet Ice. Derek G. responded. Pitt meadows has 13 years left. Planet Ice was on a 25 year agreement, 2 years left. Robert Orr wants to lead an initiative to manage and run the Planet Ice facility as an RMMHA not for profit business.

Mark Mckinney - Team Development Fee's for A – what was the plan? Confusion in rates \$3000 ended up being \$600 from teams and even less skating for the A players then previous years. Blaine responded. James and Blaine evaluated attendance and the goal was to increase the number of players being worked with by the developers, so it does within team practices. Derek responded, the plan changed through the year, to try to make the best of what we had.

Renee Koerner - Change tough for people – Communication needs to be increased. Change manage needs to be in place.

Dean Sharpe - Midget and Bantam coaches – need to be more supportive kids and their opportunities to skate with other higher-level teams.

11. Voting on approval of contributing and life members:

Carolyn motions to approve all 10 as contributing members and be allowed to vote. Seconded by Blaine.

Scott Falconer - President
Derek bedard – Director
Debra Vey-Lourens – Life member
Matthew Charron - coach
Spencer Levan – life member
Matt Olson - coach
Nick Mayduniuk - coach
Aaron Crawford - coach
Jeff Adams - coach
Alex Smith - coach

- 12. Poll captain report 107 eligible voting members in attendance
- 13. Jake Rudolph was introduced as our Elections chair person
- 14. Derek Gullmes and James Eccles will serve as scrutineers.
- (a) Nomination of VP of A Hockey (2 years)

Blaine Hallman by Dudley Brookes. Seconded by Scott Falconer. Accepted by Blaine.

Ryan Douglas by Ken Thompson. Seconded by Mark Davies. Accepted by Ryan.

Vote was Taken – Ryan Douglas is elected.

a) Nomination of VP of Administration (2 years)

Carolyn Gosling by Adam Schwartz. Seconded by Lee Roberts. By Acclamation.

B) Director of 1 year term (2 available positions):

Derek Bedard by Blaine Hallman. Seconded by Nolan Balatti.

Luba Andrew by Karen Bateson. Seconded by Rene Koerner

Both elected by Acclamation.

C) Director of 2 year term (4 available positions):

Bonnie Segarty by Adam Schwartz. Seconded by Nedra Murray.

Pamela Galvez by Lindsay Wait. Seconded by Jen Marshall.

Ken Thompson by Scott Cunningham. Seconded by Chris Muc.

Dave Kallin by Ken Thompson. Seconded by Erin Thompson.

All 4 elected by acclamation.

Motion to Adjourn – Carolyn Gosling. Seconded by Scott Falconer. Carried. Meeting adjourned at 9:30 p.m.