## Ridge Meadows Minor Hockey Association Annual General Meeting MINUTES

Date: Tuesday, March 11, 2014 Tin

**Time:** 7:00 pm

Location: Thomas Haney Secondary School

Board:	Dan Herbranson Carolyn Gosling	Derek Gullmes Gladys Hewson
	Janine Szabados	Ryan Douglas
	Gina Salar-Arefi	Scott Falconer
	Kyla MacEwen	Evelyn Pederson
	Blaine Hallman	Brent Boatter
	Derek Bedard	Lana Williams
	Andrew Carr	Kevin Gatenby
	Earl Bloom	Jennifer Gagnon

Absent: Michael Carter

Annual Financial Meeting called to order at 7:05 pm by Dan Herbranson, President

Pat Smith, Auditor (from Evancic Perrault Robertson) in attendance

Pat Smith went over the Audited Financial Statements for year ended March 31, 2013.

No questions.

AGM called to order at 7:13 p.m. by Dan Herbanson, President

**Motion** to approve minutes from AGM April 16, 2013. Lana Williams – Seconded by Penny Butler. **Carried** 

Introduction of the Board of Directors from 2013/14 Season.

Dan Herbranson gave his President's Report.

James Eccles – Director of Hockey Development Report

Janine Szabados – Financial Report for 2013/14 Season. We were originally denied our Gaming Grant but appealed and were given \$90,000.00. Hired James Eccles in August and the Board has also approved and hired the Paper Chase, a bookkeeping company. These two expenditures will be assist in using some of the surplus funds that we have had.

**Motion** to appoint Evancic Perrault Robertson as Auditor for 2013/14 Season – Janine Szabados – Seconded by Gina Salar-Arefi. **Carried** 

Scott Falconer asked if we had been advised to spend some of the \$ in surplus and Janine answered that yes, we had been advised that we shouldn't have that much money in reserve as it can jeopardize our receiving the Gaming Grant.

Poll Captain Report: 134 eligible members in attendance

**Motion** to approve a Special Resolution (requiring not less than 75% of the votes from the voting members) in order to repeal the current version of the Society's bylaws in their entirety, and adopt the attached version of By-Laws as the new By-Laws of the Society – Derek Gullmes. Seconded by Lisa Voncina.

Voting will be done by Ballot. 109 in favour 22 against - Carried

Leslie Lilley and Derek Ferguson as Scrutineers.

Motion to destroy the ballots - Derek Gullmes. Seconded by Lisa Voncina. Carried

Motion # 2 has been withdrawn.

Elections – note that one Director position (Gina Salar-Arefi) is grandfathered as she was elected to a two-year position at the 2013 AGM. Therefore, elections will be for the other 12 Board positions.

Introduction of Jake Rudolph as Chairperson for the Elections of the Board. Scrutineers will be Leslie Lilley and Derek Ferguson.

#### President (2 year term):

Dan Herbranson (Nominating Committee – Seconded by Derek Seaton) - Accepted Scott Falconer (Blaine Hallman – Seconded by Nolan Balatti) - Accepted

**83 Scott** – 50 Dan (based on scrutineers' count)

#### Vice-President "C" Hockey (2 year term):

Earl Bloom (Nominating Committee – Seconded by Tanis Green) - Accepted Kevin Gatenby (Daryl Evans – Seconded by Leslie Rogers) - Accepted Derek Gullmes (Scott Falconer – Seconded by Robyn Sheridan) – Accepted

Earl - 23 Kevin - 22 Derek - 89

# Vice-President "A" Hockey (1 year term):

Blaine Hallman (Kyle McCarthy – Seconded by Dudley Brooks) - Accepted

By Acclamation

#### Vice-President of Admin (1 year term):

Gladys Hewson (Debbie Vey-Lourens - Seconded by Rick Trulsen) - Accepted Evelyn Pederson (Blaine Hallman - Seconded by Lisa Voncina) - Accepted

Evelyn 102 Gladys 32

# Director # 1 (2 year term):

Derek Bedard (Nominating Committee - Seconded by Derek Ferguson) - Accepted

By Acclamation

# Director # 2 (2 year term):

Carolyn Gosling (Blaine Hallman - Seconded by Lisa Voncina) - Accepted

By Acclamation

# Director # 3 (2 year term):

Roxanne Reid (Kyla MacEwen - Seconded by Brent Boatter) - Accepted

By Acclamation

# Director #4 (2 year term):

Brent Boatter (Derek Gullmes – Seconded by Nolan Balatti) – Accepted Earl Bloom (Derek Seaton - Seconded by Gladys Hewson) – Accepted

Earl has withdrawn

By Acclamation – Brent Boatter

# Director #5 (1 year term):

Earl Bloom (Gina Salar-Arefi – Seconded by Warren McIlveen) – Accepted

By Acclamation

## Director #6 (1 year term):

Nolan Balatti (Blaine Hallman - Seconded by Andy Wingrove) - Accepted

By Acclamation

## Director #7 (1 year term):

Lisa Voncina (Evelyn Pederson - seconded by Kyle McCarthy) – Accepted

By Acclamation

## Director #8 (1 year term):

Kevin Gatenby (Gladys Hewson - Seconded by Dan Herbranson) - Accepted

By Acclamation

Motion to destroy ballots – Lisa Voncina – Seconded by Carolyn Gosling. Carried Scott Falconer – President-Elect thanked everyone for coming. Meeting adjourned at 8:42 p.m.